Bhadrabahu Vijay

Abhyantar Tap (Six kinds)

The six kinds of internal austerities.

These are called internal austerities because they are mainly related to the mind.

Prayaschit (Atonement)

One should tell the preceptor the various errors of commission and omission, the faults and sins committed knowingly or unknowingly and must perform prayaschit. One must fully carry out the prescribed atonement. One must make a determination and take a pledge not to commit such faults again in future. Even if any small fault is committed one must say "Michchami Dukkadam" I repent my fault and make atonement for it.

Vinay (Politeness)

One must be polite towards elders and spiritual superiors. One must offer them a seat. When they are moving by, one should stand up with respect. One should conduct oneself in their presence, with decency. One should keep oneself free from the condemning the religion and the perceptos.

Vaiyavachch (service)

It means serving with devotion, to religious teachers, ascetics, virtuous people, Sadhus and sadhvis and colleagues and companions. One should render service specially to the sick and the weak; and give them the necessary help. This quality is very efficacious as an internal Tapas. The Tirtankars themselves have considered this quality as of great significance "Those who render service to the weak and the sick really render service to me" (to the Tirthankar). It has been stated thus in the Shastras.

Vyutsarg (renouncing the attachment for the body)

One should get immersed in the meditation of the Jina, Paramatma for whatever duration it is possible. After renouncing all bodily inclinations and activities and after attaining stillness, one must meditate upon the twenty four Tirthankars along with a certain number of breathings. This austerity has also been called Kayotsarga Dhyan. It is renouncing the attachment for the body and taking care of the soul.

Swadhyay (Spiritual studies leading to self-realization)

One must study, learn and reflect deeply on such sacred books as inspire one to attain self-realization and enable one to save one's soul from getting lost in the entanglements of the mundane life.

Dhyan (Meditation)

Concentrating all the inclinations and potentialities of the mind on a contemplation of the true form of the Atma, soul and the Paramatma, the Supreme Soul and becoming completely absorbed in such a contemplatlon.

Besides these. there are some other daily and special austerities in vogue among Jains.