Bhadrabahu Vijay


It is absolutely essential to keep the mind concentrated in an auspicious meditation in order to attain the purity and perfection of the soul. There is the need for a prop of something if the mind should acquire concentration and should intensify it. In all the theories and directions in the Jain Dharma relating to meditation, there is a very interesting and beautiful description of the Navpad.

Surely, one can attain the highway of mental firmness and concentration if one meditates on the Navpad in the various prescribed ways realizing their qualities which are among the best and the most sublime in the world.

Navpad The nine positions.

Arihant : (One who has destroyed the inner enemies & still with bodv). Arihant has 12 attributes. The color of the meditation is White. Arihant is devoid of attachments and hatred; one who has conquered the inner enemies; one who is worthy of being worshipped by all,

Siddha : (The souls that are perfect through the destruction of Karmas.) Siddha has 8 attributes. The color of the meditation is red. The souls that have attained freedom or Mukti by destroying all Karmas; the souls that have become perfect.

Acharya : (Preceptors) Acharya has 36 attributes. The color of the meditation is Yellow. The most exalted, noble and leading section of the four-fold Jain Sangh. They shoulder the responsibility of maintaining the Dharmik commands.

Upadhyay: (Teachers). Upadhyay has 25 attributes. The color of the meditation is Green. They teach the Sadhus and sadhvis and guide them to study the scriptures. They the carry the responsibility of the internal organisatlon of the four-fold society according to the prescriptions of the dharma.

Sadhu: (Those who progressing on the path of salvation.) They have 27 attributes. They keep pursuing and progressing on the path shown by the Vitrag according to their abilities.

Darshan :(faith). Darshan has 67 atributes. The color for meditation is White. Faith in the nine doctrines and devotion for them. Having absolute falth in and devotion for the commandments of the Paramatma.

Jnan: (Knowledge). Knowledge has 51 attributes. The color for meditation is White. This dispels the darkness of ignorance and kindless the light of self-realisation.

Charitra: (Character). The character has 70 atributes. The color for meditation is White. Uniting propensities and the actions for the realisation of the soul, always with the greatest care and circumspection.

Tapa: (Austerity). Austerity has fifty attributes. The color for meditation is White. Making spiritual endeavours after restraining and disciplining the habits of eating, thinking and movement.

Of these, Darshan - right faith, Jnan - right knowledge, Charitra - right observance and action are also called the three gems of Jain conduct. The unification of these three and adoring and practising them constitute the path of salvation That is the aim of life.

'Samyagdarshan - Jnan - CharitraniMoksha - marg"

To adore and pursue the path of salvation.

To attain an all -round spiritual development of life.

Right knowledge, right realisation and right observance are absolutely essential. It is only when these three are integrated that we can place steps on the path of attainment, In the absence of any one of them, the others cannot give the same result.

If man should attain anything in life; and if he should achieve anythinq in life, he must possess the intellectual incisiveness and farsightedness to examine and to realise the nature of any object. If one vows to live by truth; and if one does not have the firmness and strength to be true to that vow; and if one has less of such firmness and strength; and if by adopting that principle of truth, one has not achieved any external or internal development in his life, he tastes the fruit of disappointment and the absence of fulfilment on the path of Samsar or life but those principles are absolutely essential to pursue the path of Moksha or Parampad - Salvation.